Przejdź do treści

Important Advisory: Avoid Travel to these 16 Countries. Popular Holiday Destinations included

02/05/2024 14:21 - AKTUALIZACJA 06/05/2024 18:34
Urgent travel warning - new list of countries

Urgent travel warning – new list of countries. Because of the worsening armed conflict in the Middle East and rising missile attacks, travel recommendations to popular holiday countries have been updated. Sixteen countries are now on the list, including some well-known holiday destinations. Travelers should stay informed about FCDO announcements.

Urgent travel warning

The British Foreign Office has issued a warning advising against travel to certain parts of the region following Iran’s firing of at least 300 missiles and drones at Israel on Saturday (13/04).
READ: Top 10 Best Amusement Parks in Poland

Travelers heading to Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt, Jordan, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Oman, Syria, Libya, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Yemen, Iraq, Algeria, and Bahrain should exercise extreme caution and monitor FCDO announcements regularly.

“Follow and connect with FCDO travel on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. You can receive email notifications when this travel advice is updated,” advises the UK Foreign Office.
You might also like: How much tobacco and alcohol can I bring to UK after Brexit? UK DUTY-FREE ALLOWANCES (2024)


The travel warning includes the following areas where all travel is advised against:

  • Chaambi Mountains National Park and designated military operation zones of Mount Salloum, Mount Sammamma, and Mount Mghila
  • Militarized zone south of the cities of El Borma and Dhehiba
  • An area within 20 km of the remaining border with Libya, north of Dhehiba
  • The town of Ben Guerdane and its immediate surroundings

Additionally, for safety reasons, the FCDO advises against all but essential travel to the following areas:

  • Area within a 75 km radius of the border with Libya, including Remada, El Borma, and the city of Zarzis
  • Kasserine Governorate, including the town of Sbeitla
  • Area within a 10 km radius of the border with Algeria south of Kasserine province
  • Area within 30 km of the border in the provinces of El Kef and Jendouba south of the city of Jendouba, including the archaeological site of Chemtou
  • Area north and west of the town of Ghardimaou in the province of Jendouba, including El Feidja National Park
  • Area within a 10 km radius of Mount Mghila
  • Area of the Orbat Mountains

These areas should be approached with caution, and travel should be limited to essential purposes only where indicated.


The FCDO advises against all travel to Lebanon and urges all British citizens currently in the country to depart immediately.

Saudi Arabia

The British Foreign Office advises against all travel to certain parts of Saudi Arabia, including:

  • All travel within 10 km of the Yemeni border
  • All but essential travel to areas between 10 km and 80 km from the Yemeni border

Additionally, non-essential travel to Abha International Airport in Asir Province is discouraged.


The FCDO advises against all travel to areas within 3 km of the border with Syria in Jordan.


The FCDO advises against all travel to certain parts of Egypt. Specific warnings include:

Egypt-Libya border: Within 20 km of the Egypt-Libya border, except for the town of El Salloum (where all but essential travel is advised against).
North Sinai: All travel to the North Sinai Governorate is strongly discouraged.
Northern part of South Sinai: Travel to the northern part of South Sinai province beyond the St. Sinai road, including Catherine-Nuweibaa, except coastal areas along the western and eastern parts of the peninsula.
Eastern part of Ismailiyah Governorate: Travel to Ismailiyah Governorate east of the Suez Canal is strongly discouraged.
Western Desert: Prohibition of all travel to areas west of the Nile Valley and Nile Delta, except for certain specified locations.

  • Luxor, Qina, Aswan, Abu Simbel and the Valley of the Kings
  • Fayoum Governorate
  • coastal areas between the Nile Delta and Marsa Matruh
  • the Marsa Matruh-Siwa road
  • the oasis city of Siwa
  • Giza Governorate northeast of the Bahariya Oasis
  • road between Giza and Farafra (but we advise against all but essential travel on the road between Bahariya and Siwa)
  • Bahariya Oasis, Farafra, White Desert and Black Desert

The FCDO advises against all but essential travel to the Hala’ib Triangle and Bir Tawil Trapezoid.


The FCDO advises against all travel to areas within this country within:

  • 30 km of borders with Libya, Mauritania, Mali, and Niger
  • 30 km from the border with Tunisia in the provinces of Illizi and Ouargla, and in the area of the Chaambi Mountains

Travelers should stay informed about FCDO announcements. The British Foreign Office warns that due to the tense political situation, the warnings may change.,